2023.01.17– INCOG 2.0 Guidelines for Cognitive Rehabilitation following TBI: What's New? (Recorded Webinar)

A Mitchell Rosenthal Memorial Research recorded webinar featuring Mark Bayley, M.D. and Jennie Ponsford, Ph.D. Aired live at 3:30 p.m. ET January 17, 2023.

To download the webinar, choose the “Download Now” option from the dropdown below. After completing the checkout process, you will receive an email with further instructions and a file that includes information about receiving your ACBIS CEU.

Aired live on January 17, 2023. Includes 1 ACBIS CEU. 

Note: A certificate of attendance/ACBIS CEU certificate will not be available with the purchase of this webinar after January 31, 2026.

In this Mitchell Rosenthal Memorial Research webinar, Dr. Mark Bayley, M.D., FRCPC, and Professor Jennie Ponsford, A.O., M.A. (Clinical Neuropsychology), Ph.D.,  will describe the updated set of cognitive rehabilitation guidelines developed using a rigorous process and provides updated guidance for clinicians. The international group of cognitive researchers and clinicians (known as INCOG) was reconvened to develop INCOG 2.0: Guidelines for Cognitive Rehabilitation Following TBI. The INCOG 2.0 series includes a paper on the updated methodology for the development of the guidelines and another on the updated principles of cognitive assessment and rehabilitation.  The remainder of the updated series addresses the five main cognitive topics/impairments following TBI (Post Traumatic Amnesia, Attention, Executive Functions, Cognitive Communication, and Social Cognition Disorders and Memory). The purpose of this webinar is to raise awareness of the changes in cognitive rehabilitation best practices.

 Learning Objectives

  1. Describe the process of development of the INCOG guidelines
  2. Name new updated recommendation topics from the guidelines
  3. Discuss how the INCOG clinical algorithms could be used to tailor treatment to individuals with TBI

If you select "Recorded Webinar - Download Now!" from the dropdown menu below, you will be prompted to continue to payment. When you have completed the checkout process, you will receive an email with further instructions. The file contained in this email also includes instructions about receiving your ACBIS CEU.

If you would like to purchase a CD, please select "CD/Handout Package, CBIS/T Rate (Includes 1 CEU)" from the drop-down menu. Please note: The CD may not be available for immediate shipping.

On-demand recorded webinars are non-refundable.

Mark Bayley, M.D., FRCPC is a clinician scientist at the KITE research institute at the University Health Network- Toronto Rehabilitation Institute and a Professor of Medicine at the Temerty Faculty of Medicine, the University of Toronto in the Division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. Mark is very interested in enhancing rehabilitation outcomes after brain and spinal cord illness and injury. He has led multicenter trials of exercise, technology, and medications combined with exercise to enhance outcomes. He is also interested in how to ensure clinicians follow best practices by leading the development of clinical practice guidelines, implementation toolkit websites, and smartphone apps. He currently holds the Coriat Family Chair in Rehabilitation Innovations. Mark has held several health system leadership roles including Chair of the Stroke Evaluation Committee at Corhealth Ontario, and the Vice Chair of the GTA Rehab Network. His work has helped redesign rehabilitation systems in Canada.

Jennie Ponsford, A.O., B.A. (Hons), M.A. (Clin Neuropsych), Ph.D., MAPsS, FCCN is a Professor of Neuropsychology and Director of Clinical Programs in the School of Psychological Sciences at Monash University and Director of the Monash-Epworth  Rehabilitation Research Centre at Epworth Healthcare in Melbourne. Over 42 years she has engaged in clinical work and research with individuals with mild, moderate, and severe traumatic brain injury, investigating outcomes and the efficacy of rehabilitative interventions,  and publishing 2 books and over 430 journal articles and book chapters. She is Past-President of the INS, IASTBI, and ASSBI. In 2013 she was awarded the Robert L. Moody Prize for Distinguished Initiatives in Brain Injury and Rehabilitation, in 2015 the INS Paul Satz Career Mentoring Award, and in 2017 was made Officer of the Order of Australia for her distinguished contributions to neuropsychology and seminal advances in diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of patients with traumatic brain injury.